BioInfusion Deep Conditioner

Oy!

Oy!

So I planned to start this post raving like a product maniac about one of the BEST deep conditioners I’d found in quite a long time.  I’d used this product several times to repair my hair during the summer when it lacked moisture and needed just a tad more TLC.  Back then I thought it worked like a charm! It was an effecive deep conditioner in that the directions specifically instructed you to let sit in hair for no less than 45 minutes.  For me that’s all the convincing I needed, or assurance rather, to let me know that this company’s intent was to do what the product says it’s going to do. Here’s a list from a merchant’s site about it’s claims:

  • A blend of science and nature.
  • Ultra hydrating for strength.
  • Naturally restores moisture.
  • Olive oil has been recognized throughout the ages as a naturally nourishing therapy believed to have rejuvenating power.
  • Rich in natural conditioning agents, olive oil infuses moisture to hair and scalp on contact.
  • BioInfusion is a blend of science and nature that has combined olive oil and other natural ingredients with new technologies to create the finest quality products for relaxed and natural styles.
  • Safe for color treated hair.
  • BioInfusion olive oil deep conditioning treatment

 

Basically, all good…right?

 

Well, what I initially loved about his product is of course it’s initial properties.  Olive Oil.  This is it’s absoute main ingredient, but not necessarily it’s most active ingredient.  Nonetheless what it claims to do it absolutely did.  It doesn’t have the best slip for a conditioner, but alas most DEEP conditioners do not, my guess is because of it’s potency…(don’t quote me on that).

But in keeping true with my whole new year, new me, new healthy hair approach, I revisited the ingredient page and was mystified and saddend by what I discovered.

 

“Water – Aqua , Glycerin , Coconut Oil – Cocos Nucifera , Behentrimonium Methosulfate , Soybean Oil – Glycine Soja , Dimethicone”

 

Ahhhh!! The tenth or so ingredient from the top was a cone! How could this be….shame.  I was surprised because…well it worked like a dream! I’d stumbled upon it by accident at a local Walgreens and thought I’d found something special, something that would help rejuvinate my hair when needed. 

So as of now I’m a bit torn:-(.  This was one of my favorite deep conditioners which means the hunt for  a steady and new one is probably in full effect.  I’m determined to stick to my regime of no crap product and won’t purchase this again….but…eh…still sucks.  I found that my hair is annoyingly particular about which conditioners I do put into it, so going forward I might have to either concoct something or mix two seperate conditioners and keep the ‘ol fingers crossed.

10 Comments to “BioInfusion Deep Conditioner”

  1. Awww. Sorry for your “loss.” LOL! That conditioner sounded awesome… until you go to the cones part :-( I still haven’t found an all-natural deep (as in sit for 45 mins) conditioner yet, but will continue to use Oyin’s Honey Hemp for my conditioning needs. Have you tried concocting something from herbs and/or oil? Anita Grant has some great ideas on her website, or check around on the Nappturality boards.

  2. I haven’t yet tried Oyin’s line of products but beleive me it’s on my list…lol! If I do find the time I’d want to start a mix with coconut oils as a base, mainly because I find my hair loves it more than all the other oils I’ve tried. Thanks for the recommendation though I will check out Anita’s site for sure!

  3. Well, have you done research on Dimethicone?
    Btw I really enjoyed this DC
    But I researched it and i haven’t seen so many bad things about it when it comes to hair or even skin.
    Here is some of it.

    In general, silicones work by covering hair with a thin hydrophobic (water-proof) coating. This coating serves several purposes: it helps reduce the porosity of the hair which makes it less likely to absorb humidity; it helps reduce moisture loss from the inside of the hair; and it lubricates the surface of the hair so it feel smoother and combs easier.

    Found:
    http//thebeautybrains.com/2007/01/29/are-silicones-bad-for-your-hair/

    ………
    An organic silicone, derived from silica, this white powder occurs abundantly in nature. It is used as a skin protectant, emollient, and moisturizer. It provides silkiness, and is well tolerated by even the most sensitive skins. …

    Found: http://www.aromatherapygoddess.com/ingredient_glossary.html

    An oil derived from silicone, a substance extracted from rocks and sand, used to facilitate smoothness to the skin.

    Found:
    http://www.beautynaturally.com/bningred.html

    So I hoped this helped!
    If not, i hope you can find another DC that fits your needs.
    Happy hair Growing!

    • Hi Julia,
      thanks for the info! To be honest, I still do like the Bioinfusion DC, it worked pretty well to moisturize my hair. But, from the research I did on Dimethicone, I chose not to use because of it’s tendency to build up on my hair. The coating from silicones is really effective on my hair, because my hair has a tendency to be excessivly dry, that overtime my hair becomes a bit dull looking…my curls don’t shape up, and all the styling products I apply to my hair seem to be ineffective. I’ve also stopped using shampoos with sulfates, and from what I read these types of poos are the best and most effective in ridding the hair of buildup bought on by silicones. I haven’t rid my entire life of silicones though, most of my lotions and creams have silicones in them, which works great to moisturize my skin. Granted though, I still feel my research is still in the beginning stages as far as cones go…but for now my hair has done great without them;-)

  4. well I think that you might be a little suprised to find out that dimethicone is actually made in nature also I googled it. Not so bad if you really want to use this product.

  5. I actually found your review while standing in front of the product in walgreen’s. lol! I still bought it (and the shampoo) because it was a really good price and I’m a product junkie. I’m in the process of using the deep conditioner now.

    But dimethicone from what I googled, isn’t all that bad. It just causes build up. That isn’t much of an issue with me because I cowash every other day. If the product really works, I don’t think I’ll let that be a dealbreaker. I’ll only be using it once every 2 weeks or so.

    • lol…yep, Walgreens is about the only place I know of that sell’s this line. I’m still not giving up on their products though, a friend of mine suggested a creme moisturizer that I might invest in soon…but I think you’ll really love the DC! It worked amazingly well for me…my hair is prone to a lot of buildup so I stay away, yet absolutely, two thumbs up if your hair doesn’t mind cones or you’re a more frequent co-washer;-)

  6. They have an all natural version which is called there organic brand…you may want to try that!

  7. Funny you wrote about this, I was just discussing it with a colleague. Just be sure that a professional is always consulted.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

