The Healing Process

curlSo yesterday I was all about the hair. Totally devoted to styling and pleasing my mop because I’d so erroneously ignored it for the past two weeks. To back track, I’d carelessly over-conditioned my hair while revisiting the conditioner method, as well as styling with Lustrasilk and KBB milk the following week sans DC’ing and clarifying.  As a result my hair turned hard, fuzzy and unmanageable by the time Sunday rolled around.  To manage through the unruly hair days, I’d been pinning and tucking my hair in up-do’s and trying out various gels and buttercremes to tame the frizz.  Most of the products I’d sampled were all goodies for the hair, but I’d definitely over-used one too many.  I tried the Afroveda Pur whipped Jelly one day, then switched to the Wet Set pudding the other, then topped off with some Flaxseed Gel.  Yesterday I’d woken up to an irritated and inflamed hairline! All that product usage along with the continuous brushing aggravated the hair around my front temples forcing me to bring out the big guns.

Yesterday I was more than happy to dig up the remainder of my Bentonite clay for a nice deserved treatment.  I had just enough to cover my hair, and mixed in some ACV, water, Vitamin E oil as well as some Hemp Seed oil.  The Hemp Seed to help fight the inflammation and Vitamin E to help heal any potential scarring.  Before applying the Hemp oil to the mix, I did test a small patch on the inside of my forearm for any adverse reactions, and thankfully found none (something I’d recommend every product junkie to doin light of previous skin sensitivities).

I applied the mix to freshly pre-pooed & sectioned hair, which makes application a ton easier in my book! I started from the back and worked my way forward making sure to target the scalp first and then evenly distribute throughout the hair.  After applying to each section, I massaged the batter a bit more throughout my head, leaving no hair unturned…followed with a conditioning cap and left it on for 1 hour.  I wanted a serious deeeeeeeeep cleaning, hence the hour block as opposed to my previous 15-20 minute. 

hempcThis was the longest I’d kept the bentonite in my hair, and it was well worth the wait.  I finally experienced that softer feel every other bentonite user had been harping about for some time! My hair at first appeared longer but, soon realized my curls were a tad more elongated, though more importantly my hair and scalp felt cleansed!! I rinsed out the clay using Nature’s Gate Hemp Nourishing Conditioner for good measure (thanks to maturenatural for the rec;-).  This is my second go with this brand and I’m finding that it agrees with my hair & my budget. At around 6 bucks, I’m able to run away with a full 18oz bottle! For something that works well, is hair friendly in terms of ingredients…I’ll say it’s a keeper.

After rinsing I applied Curl Junkie’s Curl Rehab and DC’d for 1 hour.  My final rinse was with cold water and this week I opted to style with Donna Marie’s Lock and Twist Pudding.  I made my twists larger this week to cut back on time but also rolled the ends using my old stash of flexi rods.  I was going for a shortened curly look, that would gradually lengthen over the course of a week, and using the rods help to achieve the look.  To protect my ends I used end wrappers before rolling, and utilized for the first time my soft bonnet dryer!! Turns out there’s no cute way to look when using any bonnet, so I embraced it for what it is and stayed put for about two hours, the average time to dry my thick hair. 

This morning I unrolled the rods, and sealed ends with Afroveda’s Hemp Seed Lock ,Twist & Roll Butter before taking down and separating each twist.  Final result was just what I wanted! I have a bob look going that should fluff and expand as the week progresses.  No frizz, sufficient moisture and a cleansed scalp make me a happy PJ;-)!

 

Giveaway update: The winner of my second giveaway for Dr. Susan Taylor’s Rx for Brown Skin goes to Miriam P!! Miriam, email me your address (backtocurly@gmail.com) and I’ll swing the book your way! I’m making my way up to some product giveaways in the next month, so look out;-)

2 Comments to “The Healing Process”

  1. hey, I saw your interview on BGLH the other day. It was awesome. :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

