Back to Basics

curl

 

Here’s the only way I knew this past weekend to calm my ever ballooning halo/frizz/dry affected hair.

1. Prepoo with Suave Coconut Condish + Hairveda’s CoCasta Shikakai Oil

2. Rinse + Wash w/ Chagrin Valley Neem & Tea Tree Poo/Body Bar

3. Deep Condition w/ Aubrey Organics HoneySuckle Rose ( 20 min under heating cap)

4. Detangle + Cold rinsed, Twist w/ KBB Hair Milk under Afroveda’s Shea-Amla Butter crème.

5. Air Dry

Record time: under 3hrs.

 frizz

Thankfully, my hair opted out of it’s temporary foolery and reduced the frizz significantly. Also attributed to my lack of halo was a drop in the humidity forecast (hallalujahs!)!! Before deciding to return to the basics though, my feet pandered into Sephora after work to glance at a relatively new line of products geared towards the curly girl. Living Proof.

The Gist:

Whether you’ve got curly cues or stick-straight strands, at some point you’ll be affected by the dreaded frizz—the annoying change in hair texture that takes you from slick to static in any humid situation. But before you crawl under that hat, meet Living Proof, your new frizz-busting BFF that keeps moisture mishaps under control. The brainchild of a talented team of hair aficionados lead by an MIT professor, the goal was to find a breakthrough solution “from a physics standpoint” and not through the standard methods of creating a typical beauty product. Instead of traditional silicone-based solutions, Living Proof set out to create efficient formulas based on entirely new molecules using advanced technology, so your toughest hair challenges are solved from a fresh, new perspective. The result is a comprehensive collection of cutting-edge, humidity-resistant formulas that work for all hair types. Whether you prefer it curly or straight, the road to silkier strands just got that much smoother—and you’re about to see Living Proof.

Sounds almost too good to be true! 

Here’s what caught my eye:

Wave Shaping, Curl Defining No Frizz Styling Treatment for Thick to Coarse HairWave Shaping, Curl Defining No Frizz Styling Treatment for Thick to Coarse Hair

What it is:

A daily treatment for optimum frizz-reduction and conditioning.

What it does:

Living Proof Wave Shaping, Curl Defining No Frizz Styling Treatment for Thick to Coarse Hair offers the first new anti-frizz technology in over 30 years. No Frizz addresses the two causes of frizz—humidity and friction. It provides a superior, extremely thin humidity barrier on hair while reducing surface friction. The result is the most effective, lightweight frizz fighter on the market today. This expert styling secret weapon contains a touchable holding polymer to give your waves and curls added definition. Hair is left sleek and manageable without becoming greasy or heavy.

 

I’m thinking….I’m thinking….@ $14 for a 2oz bottle…and my massive hair, I had to temporarily pass.  Granted reviews have been more so on the positive end. Added to my product queue for sure…but for now my AOHR + KBB and Afroveda are three gems that are absolute staples my hair can count on in times of frizz.

6 Comments to “Back to Basics”

  1. Great post. Living proof sounds interesting but the price is steap if it really does what it says it will do it would be worth it. It would be good if they had samples or money back guarantee :o)

    • that would be great, especially with the claims on the product. I’d be mighty peeved if I used up a $14 2oz bottle and it had no significant effect…lol!

  2. Have you tried Simply Organic products??? I did as a try this and tell us what you think (some call it a review) kinda thing. Turns out they were AMAAAZING! The hair wash I used had olive oil extract and my hair was soooooo soft after the wash, and the conditioner made it that much softer. Amazing. I have no idea if you’ve reviewed them, but if you get a chance DO so. This is my first time to your site, so I have no idea what has been discuss so far.

    • Oh! Turns out I haven’t heard of them. Are their products easy to find in the BSS? If so I’ll keep a sharp look out…I am an ABSOLUTE sucker for anything geared towards making my hair softer;-). I’ve been off the PJ wagon for a couple of weeks and am just itchin to get back on, thanks for the rec!

  3. Sounds intriguing but I agree with y’all…that price is a little steep in order to try out. I think I’ll hold out for now but we’ll keep in mind.

  4. I was in Sephora yet again this past week for their official launch and I swear…those bottles really are teeny tiny for the price…lol! But they did have pretty convincing before and after shots….I’m in Sephora’s insider program so I’ll keep a look out for any clips/coupons towards a discount;-)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

