Jane’s Solution

HEAVEN!

HEAVEN!

!!!! I begin with an exclamation to display my heightened excitement!! Basically I’ve found a goodie product!! Something that I was on the fence about for many months, but then caved and decided to purchase because….well, that’s what I do. Now, I’ve tried this line of products before, so I had an inkling as to what I might be in store for…but hey! I was still pleasantly surprised.
To prelude I have to say that I experimented with this one for a bit before figuring out how to best work it into my everyday routine, and I do believe that after only two attempts,  I actually was QUITE successful;-)

Jane Carter’s Twist & Lock (creme) is my new staple…at least for now during these harsh winter months when my hair craves just the mere scent of moisture.

Basically this is a lock cream with an intense amount of moisture…meaning a little goes a looooong way. The first two ingredients are purified water and shea butter! Two beautiful ingredients my hair luvs to the bone. It’s got a whole host of other butters including mango, kokum butters… and listed not too far down are some great oils like Jojoba, grapefruit, cedarwood, rosemary, ylang ylang and more!!

So two weeks ago when I first purchased, I’d bought it home excited to try just a plain ol twist out along with a light hold gel I’d found at a whole food store. After finishing the twists I soon realized that the twist & lock doesn’t really serve the purpose of securing the lock (edit: depending on type of curl I’d say), what it does is moisturize the lock. Essentially there’s nothing in the list of ingredients that warrents a good solid hold for a twist.

But, I also realized that I’d used the product on WET hair! Hair is most thirsty, at least in my case, when it’s in it’s dry state. And this was how I came to nourish my hair with the creme at night while loosely sectioning and twisting my hair into two strands. In it’s naturally dry state my hair soaks this stuff up and holds it in for a good duration! I LUV!

Yet another reason why I’m so giddy about utilizing this as a new staple in my routine is that I’m happily saying au revoir to my old staple, the Miss Jessie’s Curly Buttercreme. The switch off for me will be painless because the Twist and Lock is less than half the price of Miss Jessie’s line of buttercreme’s AND…most important…no mineral oils or other harmful ingredients that went along with their reformulation. SHAME! (on them not me;-)

HEAVEN!

HEAVEN!

2 Comments to “Jane’s Solution”

  1. So, are you saying the Twist and Lock is not a good product to use for braid outs or twist for a hold?

    • Hi Lori,
      I still love the twist and lock creme, it is a very good product, but for me it wasn’t ideal for a braid out or twists. I have thick, coarse & dense hair, so added weight from a product is always beneficial. This creme has everything but the weight for me. It has great moisture, but very little hold. If your hair is fine, and you’d like a soft, fluffy look post-twisting, I’d say invest in this product. Currently I use it nightly to remoisturize/freshen my ends, or twists before heading to bed.

