Hair Rebel

It’s cold. Simply put, it is brick all up and down the east coast, both yesterday and today, and my hair is crying out to me! It really is amazing how much the weather factors into the way our hair, skin and overall body look and feel. To go without water  or a good moisturizer for more than a day, and my skin is completely urecognizable.  My hair on the other hand forces it’s hand by rebeling, turning itself  into an untamed beast in constant need of nurturing and taming. 

Last week, to style my hair I tried for the first time the Jamaican Mango & Lime Gel, which I’m happy to report stood the test of twists and gave me an awesome rockakble twist out!! But eh…weather is a greater force of nature…so by yesterday afternoon, bustling in and out of work through the streets of NYC, the dry cold winds tied knots of dryness all over my crown of glory! Not to mention the ‘hat hair’ that’s the equivalent of morning hair.

But thankfully, today is Friday which means it’s time to give my hair it’s weekly lesson on love and attention! This go-round I’m a bit more excited because I decided to try for the first time bentonite clay, a favorite cleansing mask amongst numerous curlyheads & naturals. claybentoniteWhat swayed me to give it a try was another one of my favorite bloggers out there curlynikki.  I’d been waiting on her product review for the mask and was excited to hear how well it’d worked, but most importantly how easy it is to apply!  You can check out her raving review here.  Basically it’s a mud mask that clarifies the hair without stripping it of its natural oils, a factor that immediately gets kudos and kisses in my book, especially with this kind of weather! My only concern is how well it cleanses my scalp, something that has been a sordid issue on my plate for some time.  Time will tell of course…

So, excited and with a new product in mind, I’m heading to the whole foods store after work to claim my prize! While there I’ve also made a note to pick up coconut oil to mix in with the clay, a nifty suggestion offered up by curlynikki, and something I’m sure my hair will sing praises about. 

Last week I also ran out of my Organix Coconut Conditioner and subsituted with MillCreek’s Jojoba conditioner which worked wonders!!  It really is eye opening in a way to see how well my hair responds to change…and good change at that!  By using better products, better ingredients and continuing to be mindful of what my hair responds to…everything hair related just supremely falls into place;-)

2 Comments to “Hair Rebel”

  1. Is the clay mask supposed to work like a clarifying shampoo? Or is it just a “clarifying” treatment?

    Where do you get MillCreek products?

  2. According to what I’ve read about it on the boards it works as a detoxifying treatment, with an added bonus of conditioning your hair. The jar I purchased claims to act as a detoxifier for your whole body, face, back, hair etc. Other’s who’ve used it use the mask in place of a shampoo and simply condition with a regular conditioner afterwards…

    I purchased MillCreek on a whim at Ricky’s where I am in NYC, but I’ve seen it at the majority of Health Food Stores as well. They have a decent line of conditioners, but so far this one’s worked the best for me;-)

