KC Knot Today

kinkyI think every curlyhead has an absolute staple in their routine, something they simply refuse to substitute with anything else no matter the weather, new product recommendation or what have you.  Late last year I found my something after trying Kinky Curly’s Knot Today Natural Leave in!   Now, finding Knot Today and loving it was a complete surprise, mainly because I’d bought it on a whim, not exactly planning on using it per se, but wanted to do a quick comparison with Giovanni’s Direct Leave-in.  From what I’d heard, the detangler worked best when used in conjunction with the Kinky Curly Custard, (another sideshow review to come on that later).  But because I’d had plans to wear my hair in protective styles for the majority of winter, I opted to use it alone as a leave-in.  The results were beyond what I’d expected!

Here’s the ingredient list:

Ingredients: Mango fruit extract, slipper elm, marshmallow root, lemongrass, cetyl alcohol, behentrimonium methosulfate, citric acid, phenoxyethanol and natural fragrance.

The list is small, which I love because it really goes to show, often times big things can happen with the simplest of ingredients, and it’s organic! According to the products claims from the site it’s “designed to smooth the cuticle and to remove knots, snarls and tangles from thick curly hair.”  

How I apply: 

After co-washing then deep conditioning, I section off hair, then apply KCKT in small amounts, making sure to equally distribute the product by running my Denman through.  After hair is smooth I twist and pin until I’m ready to style. Lately, what I’ve found helpful is letting the leave-in sit in my hair twisted for ten minutes under a conditioning cap before manipulating it by adding any other styling product.  This leaves the hair softer and more manageable, perhaps because the ingredients are able to penetrate the hair shaft without being disturbed.   

My hope is that by simply using this alone in the summer months, it’d work rather well as a wash and go styling product.  It has just the right amount of moisturizing properties, it detangles amazingly well, smells great and it defines curls like some of the best curl cremes I’ve tried!

An 8oz bottle cost $12.00 off the KC site, while the newly introduced 320z refill jug will run you $44.00, something I’m seriously considering investing in for the future;-)

4 Comments to “KC Knot Today”

  1. I’m dying to try KCNT and KCCC! I want to finish the products I’m currently using though-I don’t want to stock pile them under my sink!

  2. Oh! If you could find a good swapping buddy I’d suggest doing that, but I’m sure you’ll love! I understand completely about stockpiling….I have a handful of stuff that I barely touched

  3. This is the best stuff ever! If the formula ever changes, I will cry my head off. I’ve been using it for a year and a half, and there still isn’t anything out there that would make me change to another detangler.

    • I agree, it works wonders!! I’ve got my fingers cross that they DON’T change the formula…to be honest I think the feedback’s been so great on this one that they won’t…they’re constantly sold out at my local supply store…lol

