Sleek & Shine Gel

So this week, because my hair and scalp have been at odds with the weather, I’ve had to reach for my go-to products and accessories to alleviate my frustration. 

sleekshine

Back when I was transitioning I felt my options in styles were extremely limited (they really weren’t I was just clueless:-( ), so I continually pulled my hair back in a puff bun or wore it in a TWA with a variety of headbands I’d hoarded once I did my BC.  But before I’d BC’d I hardly EVER used gel on my hair for fear of cutting back on the longevity of my relaxer (this was a sordid myth in my household), always using cremes and elixirs to slick back.  But when it was time to find products that suited my newly textured hair, I think I got extremely lucky when I found a curl activator gel that was suitable for dry, coarse hair AND most importantly did not flake, or when dried remained hard.  Sleek & Shine  adds the right amount of glycerin and aloe to this gel to make your strands soft, but at the same time this thing slicks back, and stays back! 

My only problem with this gel is that it was always a tad difficult to find! After I moved from my old neighborhood several years ago I could not locate it at any of the supply stores, and settled on IC Fantasia gel, a staple gel many naturals swear by.  I liked IC Fantasia gel…after trying their olive oil formula and the color treated formula, I understood the hype…but the only thing missing was what my old faithful gel often did and that was leave a punch of added softness and absolutely no dryness!

Luckily last year I found a supply store here in BK that’s the meca of all things hair related that also stocked my old staple.  Needless to say I stocked up and have been using it ever since, and will continue to decline other gels as styling staples…it works that well!

Ingredients

Water, Glycerin, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Hyaluronic Acid, Panthenol, Oleth-20, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Benzophenone-4, Disodium EDTA, DMDM Hydantoin, Fragrance, Ext. Violet 2.

bandsThis morning, as well as for the past two days, I’ve simply slicked back my curls into a 4-6 day old curly fro with my new favorite headbands from Goody, their wonderful Stay Put bands,  and walked out the door!

3 Responses to “Sleek & Shine Gel”

  1. If you’re still looking for a place that stocks this brand, try the dollar store. 🙂

    • lol..thanks! I would never have thought to look there…there are several in my neighborhood too!

Trackbacks

