Curl Rehab Review

junkieHere’s the deal.  I am officially on second day hair as of this morning.  I washed, DC’d and styled my quasi- bouffant this past Sunday and have to say….my second day hair looks FABULOUS compared to yesterday! Honestly, I figured yesterday was going to be sort of like the pinnacle of the do…but after untwisting my hair this morning I shuffled my feet in excitement yet again!! Bounce. Shine. MOISTURE!! All three were present and accounted for and I love em for it!

But often times when I think back on all the good hair days that I’ve had in the past, I get this nagging feeling or desire to want to pinpoint exactly what it was I’d done differently, whether it was detangling differently, conditioning differently etc.

I tried a couple of new things Sunday, the first being my first go at an ACV rinse. That rocked out for sure! My scalp for the most part felt thoroughly cleansed and fresh.  Second, I applied Curl Rehab, a new DC treatment from the Curl Junkie line. Now, this was a treat to apply because, man the smell of this puppy is delicious. Third, I styled with Donna Marie’s Twist Pudding, a light styling product that acts like a gel but produces results like a creme…an automatic added bonus!!

But what every curly head knows is that the jumpstart to anything good hair related begins with good conditioner, and DC’ing with the Curl Rehab for two hours after my bentonite disaster last week was  certainly my jump start point… and perhaps even the way I’d sectioned the hair before applying.

I applied the Curl Rehab into smaller sections this time around to cut back on my styling regime, and my guess is the DC worked it’s magic! The consistency is light, and your hair will absorb this stuff almost instantly which makes detangling a breeze because of the slip. The smell is heaven, a true girl friendly mix of gardenia and coconuts…but a little goes a long way so apply sparangly!

Ingredients:

Water, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Cetearyl Alcohol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Equisetum Arvense (Horsetail) Leaf Extract, Urtica Dioica (Nettle) Leaf Extract, Melissa Officinalis (Melissa) Leaf Extract, Mentha Piperita (Pepperment) Leaf Extract, Yucca Leaf Extract, Rosa Mosqueta (Rosehip) Fruit Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Theobroma Grandiflorum (Cupua Seed Butter, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Vanilla Planifolia oil, Cananga Odorata oil, Lecithin, Fragrance, Citric Acid.

After I rinsed the DC out of my hair, there was a noticeable difference in my curls, particularly the front crown of my head where my curls fall into looser waves.  When coaxed properly they behave into well defined ringlets, something I haven’t seen since my heat damage fiasco last summer…but my ringlets made a surprise appearance after I rinsed with the Curl Rehab!

It’s hard for me to say that my hair was simply just soft, which it was…but besides that it felt healthy, something  I’d been longing my hair to feel since I trimmed my heat damaged ends off last year.  Honestly it was personal vindication! My hair was finally willing to work with me, all I had to do was apply the right products/routine… and the Curl Rehab along with the ACV was my kickoff to that.

I’ve definitely found my DC treatment, so the search was short and sweet! I’ve cataloged Curl Rehab into my arsenal of products and plan to use sparingly when my hair needs extra TLC.  I’ll post a review for the Lock & Twist Pudding laterz;-)

