Coconut Head

coconutmilk For the past three weeks or so I’ve been trying my darnedest to figure out exactly how to incorporate Coconut oil into my regime. A while back, after  realizing how much my hair loves this stuff I’ve gravitated towards products that have coconut oil/cream as it’s primary ingredient, whether it was a conditioner or  styling product.  Pretty much anything that has a fatty base like coconut oil is my hair’s best friend.  I’ve read tons of recipes on how to incorporate coconut milk into your hair care routine through pre-pooing methods or just adding to an already moisturizing conditioner.  The results always seemed to vary…I mean the texture of the hair typically turned out soft, manageable…but rarely did I hear a raving review…or at least nothing to make me want to set aside an afternoon to play mixtress.

Bottom line is, I’m not sure what the chemistry is behind the wonders of Coconut, but from personal experience I know it agrees with my hair, and it’s nourishing properties can’t be beat. 

coco-oil1I purchased an organic version from Whole Foods a while back, had it sitting in my bathroom for a bit before finally deciding to experiment.  First I tried smoothing it on at night before tying my hair up, but found that in the morning my hair soaked it up, though had very little shine.  I knew my hair was nourished but I doubted I could use it as a nightly styling product.  It wasn’t until last week after twisting my hair after post-wash did I apply it to my scalp and also to seal my ends.

BINGO! I think I had what Oprah often refers to as a light bulb moment! In the past I’d use pure castor oil to nourish my scalp and seal the ends,  but always ended up with results that weren’t stellar.  My scalp did not adhere to the castor oil at all…oddly enough my scalp felt drier.  But last week after first applying the coconut oil to my scalp and ends, I felt an immediate difference.

It acted as a perfect sealant for my ends but doubled as a fantastic moisturizer as well! Applying it to my scalp was also a breeze because I did let the oil harden before distributing.  I mean it worked so well I’ve been reapplying to my scalp on a regular nightly basis.  What I’ve found is that while my scalp is nourished, the roots of my hair are extremely soft and pliable! I mean I have zero tangle issues…my fingers just glide from root to tip! And in this weather (it’s a bone chilling 12 degrees in NYC!), that’s saying a heck of a lot!

 

Hair facts:

Coconut oil is one of the best natural nutrition for hair. It helps in healthy growth of hair providing them a shinny complexion. Regular massage of the head with coconut oil ensures that your scalp is free of dandruff, lice, and lice eggs, even if your scalp is dry. Coconut oil is extensively used in the Indian sub-continent for hair care. It is an excellent conditioner and helps in the re-growth of damaged air. It also provides the essential proteins required for nourishing damaged hair. It is therefore used as hair care oil and used in manufacturing various conditioners, and dandruff relief creams. Coconut oil is normally applied topically for hair care.

In a clincial study, Coconut oil has been proven to reduce the protein loss in hair when used in a pre-poo, post-wash routine.  The study also goes on to say,  “Coconut oil, being a triglyceride of lauric acid (principal fatty acid), has a high affinity for hair proteins and, because of its low molecular weight and straight linear chain, is able to penetrate inside the hair shaft.”

 

I’m still determined though to figure out the best way to utilize coconut into my hair regime, not the oil per say, but perhaps other concentrated forms.  My next foray will be with the coconut milk.  I’m a bit hesitant to mix it in with any of the conditioners that I already have because I honestly trust the formulations in the conditioners that I’m currently using.  I kinda don’t want to fudge up the flow of what it’s set out to do by adding something else.

 

While surfing youtube, I did find a recipe using a Coconut creme concentrate that looks easy and sounds like something I could dabble in.

The recipe calls for:

  • 1-2 TBL Coconut Oil (Virgin of course)
  • 1-2 TBL Coconut Creme Concentrate
  • 8-12 ounces of Plain fat free yogurt

The idea behind this recipe is to ‘relax’ the curl while moisturizing.  The Youtuber who demo’ed this mix called it a ‘natural relaxer,’ which got a lot of commenters in a mini-upheaval.  The word relaxer does emote negative thoughts, but the fact that the three main ingredients are in fact natural products…I don’t know, personally it sounds like a hefty duty DC.

coco-cream

 

Personally, I’ve never heard of coconut cream concentrate before, but don’t doubt it packs a punch in the moisture department.  I plan to order online because I refuse to hunt this thing down through the freezing streets of NYC! I’ll be ordering from this site, and will perhaps pick up their coconut oil if the price is right.

 

Some info on Coconut Creme Concentrate:

Commercial coconut milks and creams are generally sold in cans, or sometimes boxes and tetra packs. The main ingredient in these products is water. If the fat content is 17%, it is called “coconut milk.” If the fat content is 24%, it is called “coconut cream.” But most of what you are purchasing is water. Coconut Cream Concentrate, on the other hand, has NO water, and is pure coconut. Unlike the commercial varieties, it also contains ALL the fiber of the coconut. Pure, dried coconut contains more fiber per gram than even oat bran! This fiber has been stripped out of commercial coconut milks and coconut creams. Also, almost all commercial coconut milks and creams have additives to prevent the water from separating from the coconut oil, and also have sulfites added to keep it white longer. Sometimes these additives are so small, that the FDA does not require them to list them on their labels as ingredients. Coconut Cream Concentrate, however, contains NO additives and NO preservatives at all: it is 100% natural coconut made from certified organic Philippine coconuts grown without pesticides or fertilizers.

 

It all sounds good, but most importantly I hope it’s worth the time and energy!  I’ve already found an awesome DC in my Curl Rehab, so I hope to try this as a bi-weekly conditioner, or if this puppy turns out to be uber concentrated I’ll switch to every other month.

8 Comments to “Coconut Head”

  1. I found the best way to use coconut oil is apply pure virgin coconut oil to wet hair in the shower. Apply a shower cap and let the oil absorb into your hair for about an hour. Then rinse out your hair with plain water – don’t shampoo out the oil. The oil makes my hair very soft and moisturized.

  2. thanks for the tip and kudos on such an informative site! I think I’d be scared of using that much coconut oil to cover my hair, but I might consider using it as a mid-week treatment.

  3. I love coconut oil. I have used it on wet hair to twist with and I have used it on my scalp. Lately, I have just been using it to oil my scalp and sometimes on the ends of my hair. I love it!

    • Using it on my scalp has been an absolute blessing, especially in the winter! Haven’t used it on wet hair just yet, but I’m game to experiment:-)

  4. I have that same coconut oil you posted and my hair loves it. I have yet to try the concentrate but it is in my cart right now, and I am about to purchase. I will probably do a step by step and take pics along the way. Love your blog!!! Q

    • I found a pretty good deal for the coconut oil at Whole Foods…go figure! Everything there is usually out of my price range, but you’re right, so far this brand is great for my hair. Can’t wait to see your coconut concentrate results!! I’m still waiting on my order, but will keep a look out for your pics;-)

  5. Thanks so much for the recipe! The results were awesome!

