Donna Marie: Lock & Twist Pudding

Here’s an embarrassing PJ truth, lockandtwist2lately I’ve been dabbling into a world full of custards, souffle’s and puddings.  I’ve had my hands in jars of Miss Jessie’s Pudding, Curls by Sisters Smith Wet Set pudding….KCCC…Curls Souffle…Donna Marie’s Lock & Twist Pudding…and my recent get…Afroveda’s Curly Custard.

Hopefully I’m not the only one, but whenever I hear a product is whipped or puddingfied…I instantly think MOISTURE!  My head goes into a tizy and I must purchase, must sample to see if it meets my hair criteria.  Can’t be sure how long this crazy tick is going to last…but several weeks ago when I ordered Donna Marie’s Lock & Twist Pudding, I had the hopes on high because of all the fab raves throughout the kinky curly community.

I’m going to take it old school for a minute and say…yo, this stuff is ridiculous! Verbage meaning…this stuff is fantastic, crazy good! Two weeks ago this puppy contributed to one of the best hair weeks I’ve had on the books to date! I used it in conjunction with my ACV rinse and my KCKT leave-in.  My hair had bounce for days, moisture round the clock, and SHINE…a near obsolete because of winter here on the east coast.

I used the pudding to twist my hair and achieved great results.  It was the first time in a long time, after taking the hair out of the twists that I didn’t try and manipulate the final look.  My curls were well defined enough that they stood proudly on their own, bouncing from one place to the next! Basically, I had fun with my hair…couldn’t keep my paws out of my head while at work!

Ingredient List:

Deionized water, aloe vera gel, carbomer, kokum butter, mango butter, sweet almond oil, glycerin, flax seed gel, hibiscus extract, carrot seed extract, burdock root extract, agave nectar extract, silver citrate, potassium sorbate, and natural fragrance

The consistency is not unlike a gel, but not unlike a creme either, so the best description is something that falls in between.  My hair absorbed this stuff up instantly, so I was forced to watch how much or how little I applied.  I didn’t get a silky, slippy feeling when applying, but my hair did seem to air dry faster than usual.  On the other hand, the next morning when unraveling the twists my hair felt silky, manageable and soft to the point where I could run my fingers through without disrupting the waves too much. 

I’ve heard positive reviews with this product across most boards, and found the only drawback to good results is the amount applied. How many times have we heard the saying, ‘a little goes a long way,’…..A LOT! And when I do hear this I take note and apply sparingly…adding more product only if necessary.  Most Donna Marie products are in fact heavily concentrated, so it makes sense to follow the tips of your fingers rather than the palms of your hands to apply. 

The way I look at it, I save money!  How do you know  a product is well worth your time and $$….exhibit A:  they are constantly sold out on-line.  I was thinking of reordering to stock up but they are indeed out of stock until further notice.  I have about half a jar left and refuse to dip into it until I get another on deck.  It’s my PJism, I know…drives me to unpractical methods of living.  But eh…No woman forgets those head turning, fabulous hair days, and I intend to see that day sometime soon;-)

10 Responses to “Donna Marie: Lock & Twist Pudding”

  1. I’ve been trying to convince myself to get Curls Souffle. Have you tried it yet?

    Arg, I want my hair long enough for twists that HANG. (I’ve been flat twisting the front and leaving the back loose, I never have enough time to finish a style XD)

    • I did try the Curls Souffle sometime last year, but distinctly remember applying it while I had a head full of damaged hair, so the results were stringy and especially dry:-(. I plan to try it again now that I’ve trimmed my hair, perhaps in the spring/summer because the consistency is light and fluffy:-)

  2. I love the Loc & Twist pudding. Second-day hair guaranteed.

    • Absolutely! I think that’s what surprised me the most, second day hair was probably better than first day hair…

  3. Lady, your not helping the pjisim :). Im going to add this to my list of things to buy.
    thanks for the review.
    -B

  4. I purchased some this weekend so I hope I get good results like you!!

    • I’d love to know how it turns out so keep me posted;-)
      I keep checking their site for a re-order but they’re still sold out, I’ll keep trying though!

  5. Some great products I use is ISES http://www.acceptthehealing.com

    The spray and oil are great! It keeps my scalp fresh, the oil is ligt and doesn’t weigh down my hair and theres no heavy build up like some pomades or gels.

    the spray stimulates your follicle for real. I feel a tingle when I spray it on and then I follow it up with the oil. I like it because they spell out the usage on the bottle.

    Enjoy

Trackbacks

