Encore

curlIs it spring yet? Three more weeks doesn’t seem too long to wait…does it?  I don’t know, I’ve been missing a lot of things lately.  One being my easy and quick wash and go’s.  Yesterday I had my plate full with things do to but not enough time! Washing my hair came first in the morning, but for some reason the morning just got away from me.  Before I knew it, I was still twisting my hair by 2 in the pm! And the one thing I do hate is rushing when I’m doing my hair…basically if I rush I’m stuck with crummy results for a full 5-7 days…never a good look.  By the time my day was done I was tired and grumbling because Monday was starring me in the face….my weekend was again over.

Not sure what took so long this week.  I opted for a Bentonite treatment which might’ve done me in, but I was planning on it all week and my scalp and hair were quite thankful in the long run! Instead of mixing the clay with water, I followed the directions on the label and mixed with ACV, ironically enough to save on time, and also added a couple TBSP’s of agave nectar. 

FOOD SUGARS 2 FRMy previous go at bentonite was a mix of honey and water, but I didn’t have the heart to finish what I had left of my honey stash on my hair, so I used some agave I’d purchased from Trader Joe’s.  Agave is comparable to honey in that it too is a natural additive/emollient and can be used as an alternative sweetener.  Agave is naturally organic, has a lighter viscosity texture than honey, which makes it easier to pour and mix…AND, it has a much longer shelf life than honey so it won’t crystallize and harden like it’s fellow cousin.  There was a thread not too far back on naturallycurly.com on where to find the sweetener, apparently some local markets aren’t readily stocking. It’s still a relatively new product, only first introduced in the early ’90’s, but periodically I’ve been able to spot check a few in my local markets.  If you can’t find it in your local grocer I’d suggest asking the head honcho in charge or ordering online if it’s worth your while:-).

After sitting with the mix for 25, I was ready to rinse with my new co-wash, Giovanni’s Tea Tree Conditioner.  I applied conditioner while in the shower and let it meander for about 2-3 minutes before rinsing to get the full tingle effect. I luv this stuff! After fully rinsing the clay, my scalp had a fresher than before feel that is the absolute best!

But that was it, I didn’t DC this week due to lack of time and the bentonite really did do a good job in softening my hair.  I followed up with KCKT and detangled my hair in small sections.  To style I applied Afroveda’s Shea Amla Whipped Butter Creme.  My package arrived on Saturday, perfect timing to feed the PJ in me.  My goodies were perfectly wrapped and the sample sizes are more than generous amounts!

The butter creme has a light fluffy texture, which is a wonder because the natural base is shea.  Most products I use with shea as a base I’ve learned to apply in small amounts first, then add more only if necessary…my hair adores moisture, but too much always merits a do-over because my hair is over saturated with product and my texture remains hard and sometimes brittle to the touch.

Took the twists out this morning and was pretty happy with the results.  It’s first day hair, so it’s shrunken and my curls are a tad more compact, but I’m feeling a BIG HAIR week coming on, so either tonight or in the a.m., I’m going to tease fluff  and separate the do;-)

 

Hope everyone had a great weekend!

4 Comments to “Encore”

  1. Thanks for the tip on agave, I’ve never heard of it before but I just found a new love for adding honey to my conditioners. I might have to give this a try! 🙂

  2. I’ve seen this at the Vitamin Shoppe in the tea section. I purchased some burdock root tea and saw it. Definitely have to give this a try and check out Afroveda’s butters.

  3. I’ve seen the agave nectar at the Vitamin Shoppe in the tea section. I purchased some burdock root tea and saw it. Definitely have to give this a try and check out Afroveda’s butters.

    • Most folks who’ve tried it have fallen in love…I prefer it as an alternative to sugar when drinking tea because I use a lot less, and it mixed in a lot smoother than the honey when putting together the bentonite clay. thanks for the tip though, I’ll gladly hit up the Vitamin shop down the block from me, trecking to Trader Joes can often be a bit annoying…

      😉

