The Process Saponified

curlThe results of my wash and twist session this week are still TBD because my hair is currently still slightly damp and in twists;-). It was a long weekend and I ended up waiting until the last minute to do my thing, but I still managed to pat myself on the back simply because I washed and twisted in record time this week!! Those who’ve ever had to sit/stand in front of a mirror with the daunting task of twisting for 2-3 hours knows of the burden I speak.  I clocked in at 1 hour 15 min this week, just in time to sneak in a snack before heading to bed.

I pre-pooed this week with some leftover Millcreek Jojoba conditioner I’d wanted to finish for some time, then followed with my ACV rinse.  I’m continuing to add my Khoret Amen Oil from Carol’s Daughter to the ACV because it seems to be a win win, cuts back on the vinegar smell and the natural oils are always an added benefit.  

honeywashI nixed on the co-wash this week and opted for a honey wash, courtesy of Oyin Handmade.  I picked up a bottle while at one of their distributors here in BK and loved the ingredients, the fact that it doubles as a body wash…and the smell is yummy!  It’s a ‘wash,’ but not a shampoo, it has no harsh chemicals, sulfates or cones, but delivered amazingly well! Honey is of course it’s main ingredient, along with organic aloe vera gel, jojoba oil, walnut oil, glycerin extract, grapefruit seed & green tea extract. All the goodness is saponified with castile soap making the consistency creamy and almost silky once applied to the hair.  It suds up almost immediately and is quite easy to apply.  I hardly used more than a small palm full to get the job done which is an immediate added bonus.  I picked up an 8oz bottle for ten bucks and have no regrets! I haven’t used a hair wash/shampoo since last year when I stopped using shampoos with harsh detergents, but this was a surprise treat nonetheless.  After rinsing the honey wash, my hair felt ridiculously soft and conditioned.  I was honestly a bit taken aback at how pliable my hair became.  My curls were well moisturized which meant they were well defined and separating on their own before detangling.  It’s never an option for me not to DC or semi DC, but the way my hair was feeling after using the honey wash, I was seriously considering. 

But I had yet to detangle, so I added my Curl Rehab DC and detangled into small sections, sat under a conditioning cap for 25 min, rinsed with cold water then applied KCKT & began twisting in sub-sections, this week trying Afroveda’s Curly Custard.  It’s aloe based mixed with jojoba, coconut and lemon oils, shea butter and other essential oil blends.  My hair is still in twists so I can’t gage on the day after moisture factor, but when I was applying I had good vibes.  It went on smooth, and moisturized well enough. I’ll take the twists out tomorrow for a better review.

Overall my favorite find this week is hands down the Oyin Honey Wash! I’d even venture to day it’s more like a hair wash AND conditioner in one, so in the summer for quick & easy wash and go styles this would work fantastically well!

 

Hope everyone had a great weekend! And if you’re along the east coast buried under several inches of snow….we’re almost there;-).

3 Comments to “The Process Saponified”

  1. Is it the first time you’ve used this wash? It sounds good, but I want to know if its consistent.

    • you’re right that’s the first time I used it. I plan to use it for my next wash, so here’s hoping for the same results…
      each week I like to change things up a bit, but it was nice to trust in a regular hair wash instead of a conditioner wash…I sort of missed the luxury of lathering my hair…lol!

  2. Some products that work great for me are ISES. http://www.acceptthehealing.com.

    they have a scalp cleanser and follicle stimulator in one spray, great for my locs since I don’t wash as often. the oil is really light and is absorbed quickly.

    Together they work great work keep the total package together. Hope this helps someone.

    Peace

