In Times of Frizz…

kbb1So this week I had the case of the frizzies, and I’m confused as to what may have sparked it.  It was sort of an isolated thing,  because it was mostly at the crown of my hair, and on a few spotted ends, but …yeah, I was swatting flyaways left and right this week, something I hadn’t done in a while.  This leads me to believe the change in weather could be a factor…? Not entirely sure, but in the meantime I’ve reached for my go-to product.

On all the hair care boards, it’s simply known as KBB a.k.a. Karen’s Body Beautiful.  Her store is based in Brooklyn, New York but you can easily order her goodies online.  Last week I was in the area and stocked up on one or two things, the first being her fluffy hair cream! I used Karen’s hair creme this week like it was going out of style, spreading it on in the morning to combat the inevitable frizz.  My hair did not lack moisture, courtesy of Afroveda’s Curly custard, but it was poofing on day one of my twist out.

matrixIn the past to fight the frizz I had to rely on a really old staple from the Matrix line, their Biolage Smoothing Serum.  My aunt who’s a hair stylist would often use this as a finishing tool to smooth out my hair once it was freshly washed, and I continued to use it at home because the results were always great.  My hair was about 3 1/2 to 4 inches long at the time and I didn’t have to use much  to get the job done, in fact I still have a little less than half a bottle left in my stash of stuff.  But along with being a product junkie, I’ve also turned into an ingredient junkie as well, and this product was sort of a no no in my book. 

 

Ingredient list:

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, Dimethiconol, Perfume (Fragrance), Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Hexyl Cinnamal, Coumarin, Linalool, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Hydroxycitronellal, Amyl Cinnamal, Geraniol, Alpha Isomethyl Ionone, Isoeugenol, Benzyl Benzoate, Cinnamyl Alcohol, Citral, Citronellol

 

Yeah…so about the ingredients. I can spell about…I’d say 3 out of the 20 or so listed.  Now, I’m by no means a blossoming scientist and can naturally read every single product label I purchase…but I’d like to have my products  even out more so on the natural side than the non-natural end.  In other words, give me a product that’s more than 50% natural and I’d strongly consider.

KBB’s hair creme is a better than average sub-in for the serum because it has natural goodness and it worked better than I’d expected to smooth my hair down, provided added softness and the SMELL is incredibly pleasant!

 

Ingredient list:

Shea Butter, Rosehip Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, Carrot Seed Oil, Essential and/or Fragrance Oils & Vitamin E.

The consistency is light with a creamy/fluffy feel.  It’s also temperature sensitive because of the shea and other oils, so it’s prone to melt in warmer weather so I try to keep it somewhere above room temperature.  The added bonus is of course how little you have to use in order to get the job done.  The light feel it has means it won’t wear my hair down and I can layer it on with other products if necessary.

Not for nothing, but even if I don’t have a case of the frizzies I’d still slab this thing on my hair, if only for that smell!! Lavender Vanilla…Yumm!

