One Snip at a Time

curlThis past weekend I took the plunge again and opted to trim a few remaining heat damaged ends off.  My last trim last December was a doozy, where I’d hastily cut off close to three inches, and where during the previous summer I’d cut off close to four inches of damaged ends.  The story is a long one, but in a nutshell my hair met a flat iron it didn’t like and showed me just how much by refusing to curl. It’s been an uncomfortable & frustrating ride, essentially styling my hair around the damaged parts but it was a lesson well learned!

This go around was a bit easier as far as trimming.  I’d pre-pooed before hand with my leftover Giovanni Tea Tree Condish, then after rinsing began sectioning my hair into equal parts.  I prefer to trim my hair while wet because I’ve seriously developed a phobia of anything heat related.  My hair WILL NOT go near a heat styling tool!  It’s a bit more of a tedious process, but gets easier with practice.  To smooth the hair down I used some remaining Aubrey Organics Honey Suckle Rose mixed with water.  The consistency was still creamy, but light enough to easily absorb into my hair, making trimming much easier! Time wise, what used to take me over two hours was reduced to a cool 45 min or so! 

camellia1I partially rinsed the condish out of my hair before applying my ACV mix of Hemp seed oil and Vitamin E Oil.  The slip from the condish made massaging the ACV a lot easier…I massaged the mix into my scalp for five minutes before cold rinsing.  I followed with a palm full of Oyin’s Honey Wash to cleanse my hair, then followed with Aubrey Organics White Camellia Conditioner.  This conditioner targets dry, coarse, unruly hair which is what I’ve been experiencing over the past several weeks. It’s also a smoothing conditioner which gives extra slip, and great for detangling.  Being one of the few conditioners from the line specifically for frizz prone curls, I was excited to try it out and compare to the Honey Suckle Rose. 

I DC’d for a bit over an hour under a cap, cold rinsed then styled with KBB’s hair milk & Afroveda’s Shea-Amla Whipped Butter Creme. This was the second time I used the Shea-Amla Creme with much better success!  My previous attempt was haphazard at best, with the end result a poofy coif.  Some weeks back I’d paired the creme with KCKT, then paired the KCKT with the Afroveda Curly Custard, experiencing the same poofy end.  On a hunch I decided to pair the Afroveda products with a KBB’s milk hoping the oil base of the milk would work…and found that it worked amazingly well.  Apparently the KCKT works best with styling products that have a water/aloe base, while the Afroveda line works best with oil based leave-ins.  My twists Monday morning were incredibly moisturized, bouncy and shinny! This week I’m seriously suffering from what a fellow blogger termed HIFS;-)!

 

This is of course just my hair experience.  If you’ve tried this combo before and achieved great results kudos! I’d luv to know if I was doing something wrong? KCKT is still my leave-in staple, but the KBB is coming in a real close second these days;-)!

One Comment to “One Snip at a Time”

