The Process

curlIt’s a Bee-U-tiFull day outside! In fact, this entire weekend was amazingly nice…for April at least.  I’m talking about 90 degree weather! It was a much welcomed change…but eh, only for a bit.  Definitely forgot about the dreaded ‘H’ word…Humidity!  Well throughout yesterday I was muddling about as if that strange funk in the air wouldn’t affect the outcome of my hair. Well…this morning after taking apart my twists I quickly remembered.

The plan was to wash, DC and style as usual.  Cleansed my scalp with Alaffia’s Neem Shampoo, then washed my hair with Oyin’s Honey Wash…followed up with my tried and true Curl Junkie, Curl Rehab for a DC.  I left the DC in after detangling for a good hour because I’d failed to DC last week and my hair was excessively parched.  After rinsing the condish I applied KCKT and followed up with Donna Marie’s CoCo Curling Butter

I clipped the roots to hold the frizz down, sat under my bonnet for an hour 1/2 -2 hours, woke up this morning, applied Afroveda’s Hemp Lock & Twist butter to seal ends and began untwisting for the beginning of the work week.  After untwisting I did add a smidge of KBB hair cream…it adds a softness to my hair that generally lasts a good two days AND…the smell is lovely (lavendar vanilla)!

cocoAlright, so I’m untwisting…and I’m shaking and separating my hair as usual.  Once the twists are out, I hang my head upside down, give a good shake back and forth…then up and down to have much of the do fall into place and fill in those pesky gaps.   I shook…I shaked…I looked in the mirror and found my problem.  ~Frizz~!!  And I’m not talking..your general, run of the mill, slap some creme on and go bout the biz frizz…I mean, looking like five day old hair type frizz!

So in my haste to get out the door and make it to work on time…I slathered as much hair creme as my hair could stand, put on a head band and walked out the door.  My theory:

  •  Humidity.  It was darn near 90 degrees when I started and ended my wash/styling session.
  •  Donna Marie’s CoCo curling creme.  This was the first time using, and while applying I did not have good hair vibes.  My hands formed an odd white, pasty consistency that dried on some parts of my hair.  I’d call it residue of some kind, not sure.

 

But all in all, it could’ve been worse! These days, as long as my scalp is clean, hair is clean, I could always worry about the styling essentials later.  What’s frustrating is knowing the amount of time that went into what I saw before me this morning! To be honest I’m not even sure I’d want to revisit the CoCo Creme by Donna Marie anytime soon.  The Lock & Twist works like a charm, and I automatically assumed this would as well. Ha!

Will I try it again….Hmmm.  My next game plan could be to try a different leave-in and maybe avoid using it in high humid weather.  TBD!

4 Comments to “The Process”

  1. Hi there.

    I hate to hear of your major frizz issue.

    I to love the Lock and Twist but it causes my adult acne to flair up.

    Haven’t tried the creme but like you, i’d have pair it with Knot Today so thanks for the warning.

    Have you tried the Honey & Aloe Jelly?

    I haven’t YET but the texture puts me in the mind of Kinky Curly so I’m already biased against but willing to give it at least one try over a moisturizer.

    • Yeah, I have my own bias against KCC, but I think the only way I’d go ahead with the Curly butter is to pair it with the Honey & Aloe Jelly. Not sure if I’d want to purchase it right now for that sake, but it was trial and error. Sorry to hear about the Lock & Twist not working…I’ve had my own issues with adult acne and I don’t blame u for discontinuing use! Scarring afterwards was always my issue after flareups…good luck finding something that works!

  2. Oh stop! Your hair did not look like days-old frizz. I still say it looked cute.

