Darcy’s Botanicals Review

curlI interrupt my sabbatical (hi y’all!) to bring you an ABSOLUTE must in product reviews.  →Last week my wallet and I finally broke down and bought a new laptop, so my lovely bambina filled with RAM and gigabytes should be arriving in the coming days;-)!! ←But, you know what…this past week something bit me…and it was something I hadn’t felt in a good while because of my economical defunct status. My focus over the past few weeks has been to consciously use up, re-purpose most of the products I already have in my PJ stash. The goodies I’ve been able to find have really made me smile…well, half because I was finally starring at the disposition of being a product junkie, and the other half mostly had to do with the kid in me…continuing to find something new each time I dug my hands in to pull something out. A small thrill really, because I’m enjoying sampling and using these jars up, finally seeing the empty bottoms!

Anywho, ignore my will to ramble and let me bring to light the goodness I’ve found in Darcy’s Botanicals. Last week was what I’d like to call a ‘naught’ week, meaning humidity shumidity was kicking my hair from the backside, so that by Friday afternoon I had to call upon The Process a tad early. Normally my Sunday’s are set aside for this time consuming task, but my ever growing bouffant was seeking too much unwanted attention. The intent though was to keep the process shortest and sweetest by a quick wash with Chagrin Valley’s Neem and Tea Tree Poo Bar. Nixed on any DC because I was already a bit vexed about the idea of detangling my hair after a long day’s work;-). Nonetheless, the chagrin soap moisturized and cleansed my strands quite effectively…enough for me to bust through, using Darcy’s Coconut & Lemongrass Transitioning Crème, and the Madagascar Vanilla Styling Crème.

CoconutLemongrassTransitioningCreme_1

Detangler

As a fairly light hair crème, the Coconut & Lemongrass was surprisingly effective in detangling the knots and snarls my hair developed over the span of a week. Light, yet a little goes a long way. I’m not a huge fan of the lemongrass scent (great for stir frying, not my hair), yet the coconut made up for it. The crème comes in a sweetly convenient pump bottle, which made detangling breezy, and honestly less messy! With the enormity that is my hair, I’ve gradually developed a routine of not caring what product flies on the wall of my kitchen area or my sink…but this whole ‘pump & apply’ routine I nailed down was snazzy even for me.

I followed with Darcy’s Madagascar Vanilla Styling Crème….my new ‘ohm’ product! I had a full 8 oz. jar to play with, which was plenty because again, a shmitz goes a long way. The crème is thick and smells heavenly, truly like some of the best vanilla bean goodies you’ve always wanted to try but haven’t. I’m also marginally convinced there’s a hint of bourbon scent as the product site hints to, but you’ll have to be the judge.

VanillaB

Yum-0!

Descrip:

Our hand whipped Madagascar Vanilla Styling Creme is an all natural hair butter cream for moisturizing, styling and conditioning your natural coils.

It absorbs instantly into hair to replenish much needed moisture, provide softness, sheen & encourages health hair growth.

This highly moisturizing creme is very thick & concentrated so a little goes a long way. It is perfect for type 3-4 naturals:)

It has a very thick concentrated buttercream consistency with the sweet smell of gently infused African Madagascar Vanilla that is truly heavenly! Our customers love the scent. Many say it smells like vanilla ice cream, some say it smells like a sweet bourbon vanilla, depending upon how long we infuse the vanilla:)

Once you try it, you’ll be hooked!

WHAT’S IN IT?

Organic Palm Oil, Organic Aloe Vera, Organic Madagascar Vanilla, Vegetable Emulsifying Wax, Candelilla Wax, Organic Castor Oil, Rice Bran Oil, Organic Jojoba Oil and Potassium Sorbate.

 

The ingredient list is 100% natural + 100% Vegan.  At $12 for a nice sized 8oz jar, this styling crème is pocket friendly and will thankfully last for the better part of a few twisting sessions. Because I wanted to cut down on time, I did make fewer twists, opting still to part the hair into four sections, then continuing to twist each sub-section (about four-5 twists per section). I unraveled each twist the following morning and couldn’t keep my paws off of each well defined, moisturized coil! A good indicator of moisture, at least in my hair, is of course the feel, but most importantly a look that I’d want to describe as vibrant. My natural hair color is a deep brown that burns a bit brighter in the Summer months, and yet there was a richness to my hair after using the crème that was unmistakably due to a higher level of moisture.

And because convenience is always a factor, products from the line can be purchased directly from the site, darcysbotanicals.com or if you’re an avid Esty purchaser from there .   The lovely owner, Lysandra has recently unveiled several new goodies, including a detangling Hair Milk and a Deep Conditioning Mask.  To read more great reviews from this line, do check out the fab Amina over @ Coup de Coeur.  One of her Spotlights was on Darcy’s Botanicals, and after her fantastic review I placed my order;-)

6 Comments to “Darcy’s Botanicals Review”

  1. My pjism is going into overdrive soon! I’ve been hearing SO many good things about them it’s not even funny!

    This might sound weird, but how “present” is the lemongrass sent? Is it more prominent than the coconut. I HATE lemongrass but I like the sound of your results…

    • lol…not weird at all. The lemongrass scent is pretty much there. If you weren’t a fan before I wouldn’t invest, or perhaps ask Lysandra to modify your batch? I’m going to finish my bottle, but maybe try her new hair milk as an alternative. The pro to it is that the smell doesn’t linger on the hair, especially if you’re layering with something else;-)

  2. I love all of Darcy’s products!

    • me too! I’m itching to try all her new things…the tucuma pomade looks good enough to eat!

  3. Can the transitioning creme be used as a daily moisturiser when doing a twistout or braidout? I need something that will add moisture without disturbing the “out” pattern of the hair or making it frizzy. Thanks!

    • Absolutely! I think the trick is, not to use too much. I’ve been guilty of doing just that, and the case of the frizzies has happend. I think that while the transitioning creme has all natural ingredients like, coconut oil, aloe vera, horsetail, etc., a little really does go a long way. Lately I’ve been using the Darcy’s Hydrating Hair Milk to add moisture because it doesn’t disturb the pattern of my hair post-twisting. Make sure to massage the product well into the hair, rather than letting it sit on top, I’ve found the frizzies find their way to my hair if I DON’T make sure the product is thoroughly absorbed. At night I lightly twist the ends and all is good in the a.m.;-)!

