Oils & Goodies

I’m biding time today before heading out to run some errands, but finally got around to a project that’s been at the front of my mind for the past few weeks.  I made my oil infusion for my scalp using some oils in my stash, along with herbs I’d ordered some months ago.  I could really kick myself simply because it took no longer than five minutes to mix everything and set it aside to steep.  Here’s what went into the infusion:018

  • Sweet Almond Oil
  • Babussu Oil
  • Grapeseed Oil
  • Tea Tree Oil
  • Vitamin E Oil
  • Rosehip Seed Oil
  • White Willow Bark
  • Marshmallow Root Herb
  • Nettle Leaf Herb
  • Geranium (essential oil)

I eyeballed everything, using the Sweet Almond Oil as my main carrier.

All the herbs used are certified organic, purchased from the fab Anita Grant over @anitagrant.com.  The benefits of all herbs & oils used in the infusion aid in a multiple of factors, a few being the calming of scalp irritation, inflammation, dandruff, psoriasis and something I’m much too familiar with…eczema.

*How does it work?

If you look closely on the label of most commercial dandruff shampoos you will find listed in the ingredients

“Salicylic Acid”

or

“Salicin” which is derived from White Willow Bark.

Salicin is a substance that when taken orally is converted by the digestive process to salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid – BHA for short). The process of converting Willow Bark to salicylic acid requires the presence of enzymes to turn the salicin into salicylic acid.

White Willow bark was the original source of Aspirin back in the day. The active extract of the bark, salicin, was isolated into a crystalline form in 1828 by a French pharmacist Henri

Leroux & an Italian chemist Raffaele Piria. These 2 men separated the Salicylic Acid from the Willow Barks and synthesized it to form Salicin, a chemical derivative of salicylic acid aka Aspirin.

Bayer is the only commercial company to still use a high percentage of Salicylic Acid in their Aspirins meanwhile others have a 50/50 ratio of Talc & Salicylic Acid.

Willow Bark, in it’s herbal form, retains more of its aspirin-like composition. Chinese physicians have used White Willow Bark to relieve pain since 500 B.C. because it’s an effect & efficient

natural healing herb.

According to the book “Preservatives for Cosmetics” by David Steinberg

“Salicylic Acid also has anti microbial & fungicidal properties.”

Topical Properties:

Antiseptic, diaphoretic, diuretic, febrifuge (a refrigerant, like topical rubbing alcohol), astringent and tonic.

White willow Bark aka “herbal aspirin” – is a potent natural healer excellent when used to reduce inflammation.

More info on other herbs used can be found here and here.  I’m hoping to let the oils and herbs infuse/steep for a solid two weeks before using, applying directly to my scalp 2-3 times a week. I purchased a medicine dropper from the Container Store for a mere buck and will place in that for easier application.  Thankfully though, at least for the past few weeks, I have seen a significant improvement in my scalp situation…less dryness after washing means less having to apply coconut oil each night.  The oil infusion I hope just to serve as a way to contain the situation, helping to ward off flareups and sudden inflammation areas.  Next up is my hair rinse (currently cooling on the stove;-), which I’ll use for tomorrow’s wash/final rinse.  Recipe and details on the rinse I’ll post Monday along with final results.

blogpic

A little hair goodie I found over at the Anthropologie sale going on right now.  A GREAT selection of sweet hair bows and pins to choose from.  This one was an impulse buy…but I’m seriously thinking of heading back to stock up.  This one came in several different soft and beautiful shades.  The headbands and bows are all within affordable price range $9.95-19.95 (in store prices).

*info via anitagrant.com

5 Responses to “Oils & Goodies”

  1. I’ve used oils more like the regular oils, but not any of the ones you listed. I have not incorporated herbs in my oils. However, I’ve purchased Organic Coconut & Hibiscus Natural Hair Conditioning Oil for Darcy’s Botanicals. It was very nice.

    • That sounds heavenly! I’ve sampled their watermelon oil, but not much else. Hopefully on my next haul I’ll sneak something in…I have an everyday gel with hibiscus extracts in it, and the smell is lovely, almost tropical;-)

  2. Okay, I’m really wanting to give my try at my own oil infusion.
    Glad to hear that it’s helping w/your scalp.

    • lol…they are real easy to make, and the best part you choose what oils and herbs go into the mix!

Trackbacks

