Natural Coils Curling Jelly Review

 

Cheers for free/off days! The pros of days off:

  • relaxing
  • not worrying about having the hair look ‘right’ for work
  • relaxing

I’m sure there are plenty more, but my brain is on a brief hiatus;-).  Sunday, my usual wash/style day, instead turned into a watch T.V., walk around neighborhood, catch up on blog network type day…so I’m bringing to the table on this lovely Monday a short product review from my latest haul from Darcy’s Botanicals.  Last week I placed an order for more of the Vanilla Styling Creme as well  a new addition to the styling line, the Natural Coils Curling Jelly.  My brain is a bit foggy, but I’m certain I tried the jelly…Friday afternoon using the shingling method.  Before applying the jel, I co-washed in the shower with leftover condish (Nature’s Gate Jojoba), then section by section gently detangled with my fingers before applying . 

The Denman got minimal use when shingling because I did not want my hair to shrink up tremendously before allowing time to fully dry.  Application took, roughly 30 minutes, not terribly messy.  Drying time, I can’t help but compare it to KCCC, but relatively short.  The temps were well into the 90 degree mark, slightly humid, but air drying was about…2-3 hours. 

 

Product descip from site:

HOW DOES THIS WORK?

Our Natural Coils Curling Jelly works to enhance & define your natural coils and waves while also giving you hold, softness, and healthy conditioning.

WHAT’S IN IT?

Distilled Water, Organic Aloe Juice, Vegetable Glycerin, Organic Coconut Cream, Organic Castor Oil, Sea Moss Extract, Organic Brown Rice Extract, Hydrolyzed Oats, Potassium Sorbate, Xanthan Gum, Citric Acid and Fragrance.

HOW DO I USE IT?

Apply a small amount throughout wet or dry hair for hold or for an easy wash n’ go style.

*Use to gently soften and detangle your natural hair .

*Use to help hold your coils & waves.

*Use to enhance & define your coils & waves

*Can use to do comb coils.

*Can also use to tame frizzies!

 

Snapshot_20090824_2

Half full I say

The directions from the jar suggests adding a ‘small’ amount to wet or dry hair to enhance your natural curls. Yeeeaaaah….that wasn’t going to fly with what’s sitting on my head. Believe me, I’d love nothing more to use just a ‘small amount’ considering the size of the jar (8 oz @ $12) but requirements are not the same as necessity and my hair needed more than what the site/jar suggests.  To cover my entire hair, I ended up using…precisely half the jar.  Exhibit A to the right, which I half expected after watching a handful of video reviews on Youtube. The consistency of the jelly is far from a gel, meaning it’s not going to give your hair the traditional hold of a regular gel, instead it will moisturize your hair, and define your hair/curls naturally ( I say ‘naturally’ but this also depends on method of application). 

The method of  ‘shingling’  has always sort of been the bane of my existence since I was introduced during my Miss Jessie’s hay-days, using the Curly Meringue product …end results were typically…fairly sweet.  Granted I had the ‘look’ down, the hair looked well moisturized, yet the amount of product I had to use always put me off.  Maintenance following this method is also a bit triffling depending on which product used.  Typically with a gel..there’s a bit of crunch…with the jelly I experienced only slight crunch at the roots which smoothed out the next day.  My ends did develop a significant amount of frizz, which I’m banking was a result of not detangling properly & my need of a much overdue trim.  My ends are parched/dry and need to be removed.

To manage overnight, I twisted the hair into loose twists and tied with a satin scarf.  Next morning, the hair was noticeably elongated, smooth and moisturized at the roots, yet still consistenly frizzy on the ends. 

Final verdict on the Jelly is: ‘Work in Progress.’ 

Snapshot_20090824

texture shot...sorta

 

Pros of the Jelly:

*consistency is light, easy to apply.

* ingredients are natural

* smell is peachy, not overwhelming.  Wears off after a day or so.

* do not need a leave-in to apply

 

Coilskinkscurls has a slightly different texture than my hair, but had slightly better results using the product, you can press play to watch her full (AMAZING) video below:

With a half jar left, I plan to use the jelly again to twist rather than shingle.  While the product did moisturize my hair, it did not clump my hair together leaving me with less time to enjoy the style.  I couldn’t separate the curls as the days let on on, instead I’m left with endless spirals throughout my hair.  Great for one day wear, but not practical for 3-4 days of styling.

 

This review is spotty at best, and there’s a lot that I’m leaving out so if you guys have any questions please feel free to comment;-).

