Spoiled by Milk: Darcy’s Botanicals Review

PeachKernelHydratingMilk3

oooo...whee..!!

 

When in doubt, reach for the Hair Milk.  That’s sort of been my hair philosophy, particularly during those parched days, hair lacking moisture and you need to stretch the do out for just one more day before the wash.  I don’t know exactly what it is…though I have my theories, that a ‘milk’ caressing my tresses will make all the frizzy dry blues go away.  I’m an addict of the Hair Milk and will be devout for any/and all brands….granted they meet my rock solid check list of hair do’s and don’ts.   After experimenting with Carol’s Daughter and their Hair Milk during my second BC, I knew I’d found love…save for the change in formula some time down the road.  What it’s really all about: adequately hydrating, moisturizing when needed and versatile enough to use on either wet or dry hair. 

During my last haul, I took another chance with a hair milk, this one by Darcy’s Botanicals.  The Peach Kernel Hydrating Milk is a thick, creamy milk bath for your hair, that will naturally moisturize and enhance curls while hair is wet, and hydrate dry hair for optimal styling.  My intial try with the milk, was as a leave-in under the Madagascar Vanilla Creme rather than the Lemongrass Detangling Creme. Both work well in layering with a heavier styling product, yet the Peach Kernel did a better job in defining the curls before adding anything over.

 

 

 

WHAT’S IN IT?

Distilled Water, Organic Aloe Juice, Peach Kernel Oil, Organic Coconut Oil, Organic Jojoba, Emulsifying Wax, Vegetable Glycerin, Yarrow, Sage, Horsetail, Nettle, & Lavender Extracts, MSM, a paraben-free preservative and fragrance

While it works better than average as a regular leave-in, it’s more of a benefit to use it as a weekly substitute when hair is excessively dry and craving moisture. Lately it’s been my go-to styler at night to calm away the day’s frizz & to retwist the hair.  In the mornings I unravel to much softer hair, and add maybe just a dime size amount to some of the ends, particularly the parts that tend to graze my collar or shoulder because they lack the most moisture. 

 

HOW DO I USE IT?

Apply just a small amount throughout wet or dry hair for healthy conditioning and moisture.

*Use to gently soften and detangle new growth while transitioning to natural hair .

*Use it as a daily or weekly leave-in to naturally condition dry curls & waves.

 While a lot of the products I generally use to style my hair come with the saying,’apply just a small amount,’ I’m very happy to report that this is very much the case with this hair milk! Surprisingly, it’s rich creamy texture merits only a smidge to soften the hair. The 8oz bottle is generous in a pump applicator making distributing the product relatively easy.  So rather than continue to use it as a leave-in, I’m going to opt instead to use it as a weekly replenisher when the hair is feeling a bit dry….perfect for the upcoming winter weather!!

*Use to add much needed moisture to parched curls.

*Can use to do comb coils.

*Can also double as a body lotion!

If you fear the smell of peaches, this may not be for you.  While the smell is present while applying, it does linger for a day or two unless it’s paired with another product.  This is a definite repurchase for next Darcy haul. Lysandra has amazing customer service, well known for adding an extra sample goodie in your box to make you smile and at $12, the price is reasonable.

4 Comments to “Spoiled by Milk: Darcy’s Botanicals Review”

  1. How do you think the peach kernel hydrating milk compares to KBB products, like the hair milk/nectar?

    • I love the KBB milk/nectar, especially as a leave-in, but for my hair texture I find that I can’t really use it as a daily moisturizer, especially if my hair is dry. I’ve tried before and I’ve gotten excess in frizz, the best way I found to use both the milk/nectar is as a leave-in or to detangle and style as usual. The Kernel Milk is also great as a leave-in, but it doesn’t have as much slip as KBB. I think it’s the Panthenol in the KBB products that adds the necessary slip, but is what also causes it to be less effective on dry hair. The Panthenol is a natural humectant, so it’s benefit can really be seen on wet/damp hair, making the hair easier to detangle while leaving it a bit shinny. The Darcy’s Milk doesn’t necessarily leave your hair shinny per se, but it WILL moisturize & condition leaving hair soft and manageable…so both have their own purpose in my opinion;-)

      • Great! thanks so much for the reply. i think i will try the peach kernel milk. I had been using KBB hair milk, but recently found my hair was moisturized when wet, but dry as paper once it dried. I have been looking for a replacement leave-in so I will try darcy’s. thanks!

      • sweet, let me know how you like it;-)! I’m anxious to try her other leave-ins to replace the lemongrass detangler

