Archive for September 28th, 2009

September 28, 2009

Remix

curlBack to business this week! Ever so slight change in approach though, a few add-ons from last week, and going forward. What did I do last week?! Ahh! Took me a minute, but it was typical pre-poo, wash, style. Can’t remember what I used for pre-poo, but found some Organix Coconut Shampoo to cleanse my scalp. I applied directly to my scalp, massaging in for a good minute before rinsing. Product buildup has been a part of my weekly thing for a while, so the poo bars while cleansing effectively, sometimes I just need to get gritty and reach the scalp directly for a thorough cleansing, and a liquid poo helps to do just that.

This week was sort of the same focus, using the remainder of the Organix Shampoo to cleanse the scalp. And because I’ve developed a phobia of over stripping my hair with poos, I pre-pooed with Vo5’s Moisture Milks Strawberries & Cream (the smell of this is Yum!). Before washing this week, I picked up a bottle while grocery shopping and was delighted to find…the price! Always loved the price of these conditioners, never exceeding $3. Pocket friendly, smells delicious & works/moisturized my tired/dry seven day hair!comb

Instead of detangling while applying a DC, I detangled with the Vo5 saturated in my hair. Last week, I temporarily retired the Denman until my ends get their proper TLC treatment. What I’m experiencing these days is not cute, and a good DC/conditioner can only do so much…it’s well over due for my trim. But to still keep it in the family, I looked to my Denman comb, a three tier comb that detangles crazy good, a bit more gentler on my ends and what I love as an added bonus is that it doesn’t shrink my curls once finished detangling.  Once the comb slides easily across your strands, it leaves curls clumped and elongated, ready to twist & style.

bopDC via AOHR, which went on smooth after earlier detangling.  Raked the DC throughout the hair, passing over once or twice with this hand duty Bop accessory, another tool from the Denman collection.  This is great for scalp massages and for general smoothing of the hair before styling.  Left on for an hour, cold rinsed and styled this week with Alaffia’s Virgin Coconut & Shea Enriching Hair Lotion. Last week, ran out of Darcy’s Botanicals Lemongrass Detangler and found this to be a fair substitute underneath the Madagascar Vanilla Creme. The lotion is quite light, which works well paired with something as thick and dense as the Vanilla creme.

Dried on a low setting using my Soft Bonnet, sealed ends with the new edition to my routine, castor oil! Ok, to be fair, I tried Castor Oil a while back with only so so results.  My theory back then was that it did not work well with the product I’d used at the time on my hair, and YET…lol, after reading this glowing praise over at Afrobella’s blog, I joyfully climbed back onto the bandwagon.  Poured a small palmful onto hands, and slowly worked it throughout the dry twists & to the scalp, applied my oil infusion. This morning, results were lovely, shinny and well moistrized! My roots are soft/twists are toucheably soft/all is good again;-)