Archive for October 12th, 2009

October 12, 2009

Fly Inspiration

curlAnyone make it to a GOOD HAIR screening this weekend? The buzz so far aims in the more positive directions, which I think is a great thing! Positivity all around is a good thing;-).  I’m a late bird, so I’m off to see it tonight with a friend after work.  Brief review and thoughts TBD tomorrow!  I’ll be taking mental notes while munching on some snacks and surveying the crowd of peeps to see the general consensus of those in attendance.  Anyone who’s willing to shell out $12 (!!!) to see women/men talk and ramble about hair for an hour and a half are …in my short book, special people!

I really did want to show up to the theatre with my hair praising all things natural and wow! But the inkling I had that the weather might take a nasty windy turn was right on point.  Quest # 1 of my protective style began this past Saturday, and triplemoisturecommenced as usual with a pre-poo ( Aubrey Organics Island Naturals Condish diluted in some H2O).  I’m still determined to find a relatively good sulfate-free shampoo that will not strip my hair like my previous try with J/A/S/O/N/’s aloe Shampoo.  The road was scary especially after last week’s dry fest, but I sank back into my earlier PJ stash and found an oldie yet goodie in Neutrogena’s Triple Moisture Dry Scalp Remedy Shampoo.   At a relatively good price of about $6.99 to $9.00, it’s more than an effective poo at fully cleansing the scalp without leaving hair stripped.  What I used to find especially pleasing is after shampooing, my hair actually felt a bit more moisturized (++)!!  The Shampoo does have active ingredients ( Pyrithione Zinc (0.5%) (Purpose: anti-dandruff), that are meant to alleviate scalp irritations, and a mild  surfactant sulfate (Sodium Trideceth Sulfate),  yet because it has never stripped my hair, it’s a definite keeper for now. 

DC this week was a first for me, and also a new found love!! I’d never done a Hot Oil treatment until this past weekend, and I cannot believe what my hair has been missing out on!  I think too much of the time we hear about traditional DC’s packed with our favorites (shea butter, coconut cream, etc.) that we pardon the idea of treating our hair to an oil treatment much too quickly.  To be honest, it was on a whim that I decided to try it, time on my hands as well…but I used some Hairveda CoCasta Oil along with Oyin Handmade’s Blended Body Oil.  That’s right….BODY OIL!  I had a full bottle since the beginning of the Summer, only using a dollop here and there….but the ingredients where just too good for me not to use.

Descrip from site:

AfterBath is a blended vegetable oil mix rich in Vitamins E, D, B1 and B2. Some of its ingredients include olive, virgin coconut, jojoba, avocado, sweet almond, wheat germ, rice bran, and black seed oils. It glides on smoothly, making it ideal as a massage oil; penetrates deeply, making it a lovely body oil.

As with most of the Oyin goodies, it’s multipurpose and lovely smelling! I was able to safely and effectively detangle my hair with the oil saturated in, sit under a plastic cap with heat for two hours, fully rinsed (lightly co-washed) and was just the most giddy person looking at the shine and moisture BACK in my hair! Mission Accomplished!! Hot Oil Treatments are simply…THE BEST! Frankly, a tad messy, but heck anything with practice gets better right? That’s the track I’ve set for myself…a once a month Hot Oil treatment with an oil goody of my choice and my hair will soak in the rewards.  As of now (Monday, did my hair Saturday night), my hair is rocking the Black Cedar Fig aroma of the Oyin Bath Oil.  It’s a warm lovely, inviting smell perfectly suited for the current weather.  Me loves!

So beyond the Oil treatment, for styling I opted for simplicity, going with a light leave in, Jane Carter”s Revitalizing Spray & to style the reliable Darcy’s Botanicals Madagascar Styling Creme.  The point was NOT to have my hair appear one gleepy globby mess of oil, and the Jane Carter leave-in stepped up to the plate.

Ingredients:

Purified Water, Extracts of Aloe Vera, Comfrey, Watercress, Myrrh, Panthenol, Essential Oils, Anthemis Noblis Flower, Symphytum OfficinalLeaf, Equisetum Arvense, Urtica Dioica (Nettle), Rosemarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf, Humulus Lupulus (Hops) Lawsonia Inermis (Henna), Butoxyethenol, Polyquarternium11, Soyamid DEA, PPG30, Cetyl Ether, Oleth-3 Phosphate, Hydantoin, Glyceryl caprylate, methylisothiazolinone (preservative)

I’d like to say it’s more of a setting lotion than a leave-in…? Yep, going to say just that because while it does hydrate, it fails to aid me in detangling my coarse hair.  I’ve tried with a large toothed comb before, and there just was no give.  If your hair is sufficiently conditioned (DC’d), and you’re able to run a comb through it without any resistance, treat yourself to this spray because it’s effective in acting as a humectant (Panthenol is high on the list), and it doesn’t weigh the hair down if you’re prone to using a heavy styling butter/creme.

Protective Styling. I’m new to this game, let me just say that.  I’ve never fully committed to a hair challenge or style in the past, and honestly never thought to until this past week.

read more »

