Happy Endings

Back to the tried and true this week. I was admittedly happier than usual because of the new cut, anxious to see how it’d turn out once all was washed/styled & done. Re-introduced back into my routine, courtesy of freshly trimmed ends, was my Denman brush! Detangling hasn’t really been too much of a bother using other tools in the interim, although it was at times a bit tedious, taking care not to rip the knots out of my hair which soon formed at the ends. No more snip snipping for a while though…here’s hoping!

Nothing fancy this week—>prepoo’d with Vo5’s Moisture Milks condish, applied Naked Naturals Shea Butter & Avocado Smoothing Shampoo, DC’d to finish off JessiCurl’s Weekly Deep Conditioner. I did manage a good three servings from the jar (which I believe is 8oz). Granted, I’m one of the heavy handed conditioner appliers.  Frankly, my hair does better when applying a good coating of condish, particularly if it’s on the thicker side. With a thinner condish…(thinner for me would be Oyin’s Honey Hemp) it’s much easier to use more sparingly. When using AOHR, the end result is a white coating well throughout my hair…the same went for the Jessicurl. Made sure to apply a good coating throughout the hair, twisted to about 15 or so twists. DC’d for two hours this week (an hr. of that was under a heating cap).

After cold rinsing, dug up the remainder of my lasting KCKT and Donna Marie’s Lock & Load Twist Pudding.

*edit– Honestly, skeptical about using the Donna Marie’s Pudding this week. Whaaaa!! Purchased during the last haul a couple wks back, and realized a few things: the color was different, smell changed & the consistency was not as I remembered.  Skeptical…and curious because my enduring love for this product was in jeopardy.  Read about the lurv here. Here goes—>

Applied KCKT under the Lock & Twist Pudding, air dried and topped off with KBB’s Hair Cream for added shine and to seal ends.  Change of nightime routine! Before donning the satin bonnet, placed a conditioning cap over the dry twists to seal in moisture overnight.  Been doing this for the past month or so and have noticed  a HUGE differnce in how the hair retains moisture. It’s a baggying of sorts, but less so because I do not apply a leave-in or spritz. My goal is to help retain the moisture already in the hair, hopefully to last until mid-week before it’s time to remoisturize. After, donned the satin bonnet as usual, woke up the next morning and fluffed out the twists.

Thankfully, results from the *new Pudding produced no noticeable difference from the last batch tried several months ago.  A bit of frizz from over manipulating first day hair, but other than my own over anxious fingers, hair was singing all the way to work! My ends are looking better than they’ve been for some time, and the layers from last week’s cut are letting the undone twists fall better into place.  This coming week will be a return to protective styling.  Visiting the folks for the holidays, and I’m a no fuss gal whenever I visit the fam…a.k.a, I sit on the sofa and watch Food Network all day;-)!

