Soldier On

Whoa! Winter much? I’m serious, cold fronts are serenading this part of the world in ways that I conveniently forget each year. I’m sloooowly inching closer to a state of preparedness, donned a scarf this morning…and that was all she wrote. I haven’t shopped for a winter hat, gloves, freakishly expensive boots I promised myself I’d save up for earlier in the summer or even sent my best winter coat to the cleaners. My assessment of winter is this: even if I’m not ready, it will come….so there.

A far as the hair, been seriously gearing up for the onslaught of dryness & lack of moisture, so much so that I decided to become friendly with Bentonite a tad early.  All I had in mind this week was alleviating the frustrating irritations and flareups that proceeded my KCCC application.  Pre-pooed with Herbal Essences Hello Hydration, rinsed then applied the bentonite mix. I’ve always eyeballed just how much to mix with what, and I did not deviate for what worked in the past. Added to the clay:

  • water
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Vitamin E Oil (to help with the scarring)
  • Tea Tree Oil ( to soothe the irritated scalp)

Mixed all in a bowl, applied to the hair starting from the back working my way forward.  Hair was initially sectioned into four parts to make my life easier, and donned a conditioning cap for an hour 1/2. Definitely felt the tingle from the Tea Tree….heaven!!  After rinsing hair was noticeably shinny and clean, not stripped. Regardless though, I was eager to DC  due to the incessant  rain pounding on the roof and lack of good television.  Used KBB’s Deep Conditioner for an hour or so, rinsed then began styling with Darcy’s Botanicals Leave-In Conditioner under the Madagascar Vanilla Styling Creme. Air dried and slept using my semi-baggy method to conserve moisture. Didn’t add spritzes or oils to hair, instead just placed the conditioner cap over the dry twists and secured it with a satin bonnet. This method has worked fairly well over the past few weeks & with the colder temps outside it was just what my hair needed.

This morning the twists were undone and moisturized enough to fight the dirty winds of another Monday.  My main concern while walking to the train this morning was the how’s of finding a good hat worthy enough to fit into my winter attire, but also be natural hair friendly….preferably with a satin/silk lining.  Time to do some research, and if I can’t find anything…I will have to enlist the help of Grandma and her workable hands.  If affixing a satin/silk lining to ALL my hats is the solution…I’m game.

