Seasoned Hair

First snowfalls of the winter season are insanely gorgeous, fun filled & ridiculously spontaneous! Dare I say it…I frolicked and sledded until my bum became sore this past week, enough to postpone doing my hair until Tuesday afternoon. Sunday was sled down the slopes of Fort Greene park day/chill with girl homie to dish about hair & other essentials —>while Monday was treat thee to Princess & the Frog day.

I felt fortunate on so many fronts, but had to cut to the nitty gritty of what I’d ignored over the past two weeks. It’s an insane accomplishment on my part to go two whole weeks without taking  a bit of poo to my scalp, yet somehow all survived. The hair was actin proper up till Tuesday…actually in hindsight the growing fro achieved a record # of compliments from friends and random stranger ladies, so I was a bit sad to hush the halo.

With a bit of inspiration from girl homie, I jumped on the mixing train Tuesday afternoon to whip up a homemade pre-poo. While two-week old curly fro was snappin up compliments left and right, it was hard to justify because of how dry and brittle it’d become, and with no V05 or Herbal Essences to take the lead, I dug in my stash.

  • Water
  • refined shea butter
  • jojoba oil
  • olive oil
  • coconut oil
  • olive butter
  • emulsifying wax
  • Almond essential oil (two drops)

All became one with my mixer, & I applied liberally to hair in sections. Left on for a solid 25-30 min before lightly rinsing and applying Naked Naturals Shea Butter & Avocado Shampoo directly to scalp. Massaged the poo for five minutes to ensure cleanliness, rinsed then DC’d with Jessi Curl Too Shea! Extra Moisturizing Conditioner. Under heating cap for close to an hour, cold rinsed then began styling with KBB hair milk under Bee Mine’s Bee Hold Curly Butter.  Styled in twists to protect from the colder than heck weather we’ve been having, and also to save for a swanky upcoming Christmas Party where a fresh twist-out will be called upon.

Today, while hair’s in twists picked up the eagle Mum from airport to commence the start of Christmas week-end, which means if all goes according to plan, a.k.a., snap snap of the Christmas Tree, laugh smile at a show or two & partake in the frenzy of family drama at aforementioned Christmas Party.

*PJ review of Jessi Curl products & Bee Mine  to come after twists are undone.

Ladies & Gents, if no posting comes this way by Friday,  Chai wants to wish you ALL (old readers & New)  a Joyous Holiday!!! She really means it;-)

5 Comments to “Seasoned Hair”

  1. Have an awesome holiday!

  2. I recently became somewhat of a hair mixologist lately. Mostly deep conditioners and moisture mixes. I like your mix, but can u explain the wax? First time seeing that.

    • hi Sindy,,
      I don’t put much in, just a tad to help mix the oils and the water I mix in. I used to make homemade conditioner a while ago, and found the oil & water separated too quickly. The vegetable wax helps to bind both together especially when I’m mixing & let the mix sit for about half an hour before applying. It makes it easier to bind all together, but not all together necessary;-)

  3. That’s a great “pre-poo”!

