Pin-Tucked Twist

Alright, long weekend’s over. I get it. Time to move on.

They always seem to come & go so quickly though. I plan my days out…almost down to a tee in order to fit in overdue quality time with fam, laundry catchup, book reading catchup – homework etc. I dunno…I’ll be completely honest, in no particular order did I get to anything on my list:-(. Yah. Here’s to being more spontaneous, less annal retentive, and just using common sense.

I waited until the last minute to start on the hair because a trip to Ikea became a sudden priority;-)! Started early Monday morning without a pre-poo, but shampooed the scalp with Aubrey Organics HoneySuckle Rose Shampoo, co-washed the hair with Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle conditioner. Deep Conditioned with Aubrey Organics GPB Balancing conditioner (*milk protein condish) for 45 min under cap.

Rinsed, then quickly started on the twists. Compared to last week, I wanted to make them a bit smaller to leave more room for styling. To style used two newbies

from Qhemet Biolgics. As a leave-in, the Cocoa Tree Detangling Ghee under the Amla & Olive Heavy Creme (*emphasis on heavy!).

Twisting took much too long, upwards of 4 1/2 hours! Okay, granted I was taking food breaks, mood breaks and movie breaks, but er…that’s a bit too long for me. As time rolled on, I finished around 3 in the afternoon, ate a late lunch and huffed & puffed my way to a late class. Was it…is it worth it?!

Yeeeaaah. I love my twists. I enjoy not having to moisturize and twist the hair each night to prevent snarls and knots. I enjoy playing with each one, tucking one behind my ear, while the rest play by themselves. I enjoy putting them up, pinning them down and securing ’em in a pony when it’s just the corner store that calls.

Last week I had good intentions to style the twists in some fanciful way, but only managed one look. No sense taking redundancy pics, so this week I pinned til my heart contented. The goal is to pin & tuck in a precarious way so that I can achieve the lowest of the low when it comes to manipulation. Get up & go hair while still making it all look effortless. I pinned a section of hair to the side (*in this case the right side), secured with an elastic and pinned remaining ponytail into a bun. The right side was rolled and pinned midway/across the back while the front was pinned up in a faux pompadour-esque using a goodly pin I’d purchased a while back. The style does look much better in person, but the pics are still good.

No touchie for a good week. I mean it. I was actually quite happy I could pull the twists over to one side without too much trouble. My hair has seen some growth over the past few weeks, and it’s sort of caught me off guard. No plans to cut or trim anytime soon, but….down the line I’d love to get a nice shaped fro or bang? Never had much in the way of bangs since going natural…that’d be sweet;-).

*reviews on Qhemet to come

By the by…THIS movie is worth the Netflix allotted slot in your queue. Dig it.

2 Comments to “Pin-Tucked Twist”

  1. I love your hair! Can’t wait for my hair to get this length. Thanks for the wonderful blog!

